National federations' achievements recognised

In the final session of the Congress there was an opportunity to recognise the achievements both of the national federations and also individuals over the past four-year period. 

Best-ranked nation on a national team level

The best nations in 2014 and 2015 in terms of performance across all of the EHF’s national team competitions, from senior EHF EUROs through to the Younger Age Category Event, were honoured.

The winner for 2014 was Denmark and for 2015 this was France. The award was presented by the EHF President, Jean Brihault, to the President of the Danish Handball Federation, Per Bertelsen, and the President of the French Handball Federation, Joel Delplanque.

Best-ranked beach handball nation

Spain was recognised as the leading nation in beach handball across all national team competitions for both 2014 and 2015. The awards for both years were presented by Jean Brihault together with the Chairman of the Beach Handball Commission, Ole Jorstad, to the President of the Royal Spanish Handball Federation, Francisco V. Blazquez Garcia.

Women’s handball development award

As a result of its extensive work in the development and promotion of women’s handball, the Romanian Handball Federation was recognised with a special award.

The award was presented by the EHF President together with the Chair of the Women’s Handball Board, Lidija Bojic-Cacic. The federation also received a cash payment of 10,000€ to support their on-going efforts.

Events organisers

Federations are recognised by the EHF for their contributions to European handball once they have organised three or more EHF events.

On the occasion of the Congress, Georgia was thanks for its contributions having recently organised the European Youth Olympic Festival, EHF M18 Championship and also the Women’s Challenge Trophy.

Portugal, which most recently organised the M16/W16 Beach Handball EURO in the summer of 2016, was also recognised with an award. 

Jean Brihault and Leopold Kalin, Chairman of the Competitions Commission made the presentation to Zurab Kakabadze of Georgia and Miguel Laranjeiro of the Portuguese Handball Federation.